polarispalm.blogg.se

Stage lighting software for mac
Stage lighting software for mac






stage lighting software for mac
  1. STAGE LIGHTING SOFTWARE FOR MAC FOR FREE
  2. STAGE LIGHTING SOFTWARE FOR MAC PORTABLE
  3. STAGE LIGHTING SOFTWARE FOR MAC PC
  4. STAGE LIGHTING SOFTWARE FOR MAC LICENSE

That may work for a lot of churches with smaller lighting systems, but the preferred selection for my church and a lot of people out there is the 512 DMX channels subscription which is $99 per year. It starts at $69 for 256 channels of DMX. They have different tier licenses priced at annual subscriptions.

STAGE LIGHTING SOFTWARE FOR MAC LICENSE

If you like the software, you’ll need to buy the license that’s right for you. Still, you'll be able to experience it enough to see whether or not you like this type of user interface. Like I already said, you can download the software for free, but you'll have a very limited version of the software. Lightkey Softwareįirst, buy Lightkey software. I told our pastor about it, he approved it, we purchased a license for the app, we purchased our USB to DMS dongle that's compatible with the app to be able to plug it into our lighting system, and we were up and running. To make sure it was as great as I thought it was, I also searched the Lightkey app in various worship ministry Facebook groups to see what type of experience people were having.

STAGE LIGHTING SOFTWARE FOR MAC FOR FREE

I downloaded it for free to check out the user interface before buying a license, and I was super impressed.

stage lighting software for mac

As I browsed their website, I was super impressed. I got on Google, searched "lighting software for Mac," and the first result I saw was the Lightkey app. Mac has a really powerful, stable midi network app that makes it easy to connect any Macs and set up automation. It’s also important for us to have an all Mac ecosystem because of all the midi networking that we're doing.

STAGE LIGHTING SOFTWARE FOR MAC PC

I’ve also realized that when software is developed for both Mac and PC one of them usually gets the short end of the stick. For my team, it's better to keep things all Macs all the time. I know there's a lot of great PC based software out there, but I prefer running all Macs.

STAGE LIGHTING SOFTWARE FOR MAC PORTABLE

That’s really good news for worship pastors like me who lead portable churches–the less hardware, the better.

stage lighting software for mac

The world of lighting control has evolved and you can run software directly from your computer. This is really cool when you use Ableton Live to send cues so I can automate light changes throughout our songs, and we can create seamless transitions in the way that our light changes throughout the service. We need it to be super intuitive for them and we don't want them to have to get a professional lighting degree to run lights for our worship gathering.Īt our church, we're small, we don't have a huge tech team so we automate our lighting changes. It can get pretty frustrating especially in our church context when we have volunteers who aren't professionally trained. The user interface looks like the cockpit of a jumbo jet. I don't know what it is about lighting software over the past years, but they all seem really confusing when you look at the software. I'm willing to pay at least a couple hundred bucks if something is supported, it's reliable and it's just going to work. I'm not a big fan of open source software because often it's confusing, takes forever to figure out and there's lots of weird glitches and bugs you have to deal with. I don't think software needs to be free because that means there's no development and support going into it. When I say "budget friendly" I mean less than a $1,000. We can't have the software glitch in the middle of a worship service and then have all the lighting scenes go haywire. Buying CriteriaĪs I looked for a new software to replace myDMX 3.0, I had some criteria that it had to meet before I bought it. However, I couldn’t find a lasting solution so I decided to make the jump to a new software. I tried to do a ton of research to figure out how I could troubleshoot this problem, and I think it had something to do with the midi automation. During our rehearsals and worship services, the computer running this software was starting to lag like crazy which was really frustrating for the volunteers and for myself.








Stage lighting software for mac